Hello Grimaldi’s Coal Brick-Oven Pizzeria!

“She eats takeout with china and serves champagne with pizza.”

I’ve always liked the above quote from Kate Spade and walking into the newly opened Grimaldi’s reminded me of this quote.

20140128-201119.jpg

One of the first things I first noticed was the cool looking wine bottle chandeliers on the ceiling.

20140128-201134.jpg

The next thing I noticed where the red and white checkered tablecloths and the wine bottle candles on all of the tables.

20140128-201151.jpg

The whole restaurant has a very New York-ish feel that gives diners a feel that they just stepped into a simple yet sophistscated NYC pizzaeria. (Simple yet sophisticated like the Kate Spade quote from the start of this post ;). The New York-ish feel is very much appropriate because Grimaldi’s originated from NYC.

The pizzeria specializes in coal fired brick oven pizza and this location in El Segundo is the first location in California. It was nice to be able to try this place out today and try out the pizza that made “the Brooklyn Bridge famous.”

My taste of New York started with a personalized pizza that I split with a friend. Straight from the coal fired brick oven, we were presented with a nice pizza topped with their famous Grimaldi’s sauce, fresh mozzarella, pepperoni and mushrooms. It was all on top of a thin, crispy crust.

20140128-201207.jpg

20140128-201213.jpg

To go along with my pizza, I got a latte.They offer illy coffee here. Illy is famous for specializing in espressos and I was very happy with my latte that had rich espresso topped with steamed milk and foam. It was my little cup of happiness.

20140128-201226.jpg

For dessert, my friend and I got the dessert trio and chose to get one of each of their popular desserts. Our choices were Grimaldi’s famous cannoli, oreo cookie cheesecake and tiramisu. The cannoli here is famous for a reason. A nice crisp shell, sweet cream filling with chocolate chips made for one good classic Sicilian pastry. The oreo cookie cheesecake was housemade and had a good oreo cookie crust as well as plenty of oreo mixed in the cheesecake. The tiramisu had distinct coffee flavor and very soft, sponge like layers.

20140128-201240.jpg

I’ve had my eye on Grimaldi’s ever since I spotted the sign and wrote about it in my very first South Bay Foodies article. I was quite curious to see and taste a little bit of NYC. I’m super happy that today I got to try the pizza, enjoy a latte and get dessert too…all while eating in a very Brooklyn like atmosphere. 😉

For more smiles, please see my recent Yelp review on Grimaldi’s.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment